Sunday, February 20, 2011

Grant Phabao & Djouls - Cosmic Tropical Disco

Grant Phabao & Djouls - Cosmic Tropical Disco

label: Paris DJs
released: 2011-02-19
style: disco soul afro boogie mix podcast

You might have already heard about people re-editing disco tracks for augmented dancefloor pleasure. You might even have read the latest issue of Wax Poetics and know about Tom Moulton, originator of the remix, the breakdown section, and the 12-inch single vinyl format. You've also probably heard everything about 'Cosmic', 'Tropical' and 'Disco' music... Well, here's our global tribute to this scene. Let's get the party started.
Selected and mixed by Grant Phabao and Djouls.

01. Doc Severinsen - Be With You (DJ Harvey Edit)
(from 'DJ Harvey 12" Cuts' 12 inch, 2010 / Pacific Beach Recording Company)
02. Linkwood Family - Piece Of Mind
(from 'Firecracker EP 3' 10 inch, 2007 / Firecracker Recordings / re-edit of 'I'm Back For More' by Leo's Sunship, 1978)
03. Sir Woolfy - Brooklyn Creams
(from 'Watchawannadoo EP', 2010 / Watchawannadoo / pitched-down (110BPM) version of 'Street Man' by Brooklyn Dreams, 1978)
04. The Blackbyrds - Rock Creek Park (Onur Engin Edit)
(from 'Square Edits EP 2' 12 inch, 2010 / Square)
05. KC & The Sunshine Band - I Get Lifted (Todd Terje Re-Edit)
(from 'I Get Lifted / I'm Chief / High Jack / Night Rider (Tangoterje Mixes)' 12 inch, 2005 / Supreme Records)
06. Lord Echo - Cosmic Echoes
(from 'Melodies' album, 2010 / Economy Records)
07. Teaspoon & The Waves - Oh Yeh Soweto (Sofrito Edit)
(from 'The Soweto Disco EP', 2010 / Sofrito, 1980 cover of 'Going Back To My Roots' by Richie Havens)
08. William DeVaughn - Be Thankful for What You've Got (Onur Engin Edit)
(from 'Square Edits EP' 12 inch, 2010 / Square)
09. Cro-Magnon - Black Mahogani
(from 'Mellow Out & Acoustic' album, 2008 / Lastrum Japan, cover of Moodymann)
10. Rim Kwaku Obeng And Kasa - Love Me For Real (Guynamukat Afro Boogie Disco Go Go Edit)
(from 'Afro Disco Boogie Edits Vol.2', 2010 / Guynamukat, originally released in 1982)
11. Richie Havens - Going Back To My Boots (Killer Funk Disco Allstars Because I Can't Find My Shoes Re-Edit)
(from 'Killer Funk Disco Allstars' 12 inch, 2009 / Killer Funk Disco)
12. Rato Venance - Djaitain ('Music, Music, Only Music' Guynamukat Afro Boogie Edit)
(from 'Afro Disco Boogie Edits Vol.2', 2010 / Guynamukat, originally released in 1978)
13. Kings Go Forth - Don't Take My Shadow (Tom Moulton Remix)
(from 'Don't Take My Shadow' 12 inch, 2010 / Luaka Bop)

download link

1 comment:

  1. Great mix! Love the way it starts!