Saturday, March 2, 2013

Shawn Lee - Soul Food 2

Shawn Lee - Soul Food 2 

label: Pedigree Cuts
released: January 25th, 2013 
style: soul retro funky 
format: 320kbps mp3 

Shawn Lee is back with a vengeance! A brand spanking new selection of retro funky soulful rhythm & blues by the master himself is our latest treat for all you soul brothers and sisters out there! We give you Shawn Lee’s SOUL FOOD 2 ! These tunes are the real deal. No place for modern hi-tech computer recording equipment here: these tracks sound and feel the part. Only vintage instruments, microphones, analog tape and outboard gear were used to get that authentic 60′s sound. Recorded at Shawn’s very own Trans-Yank studios in London, with a little help from collaborators Dom Glover (trumpet), Andy Ross (sax, flute) and Lee Skelly (lead organ on “Kinda Sleazy”) together with engineer Pierre Duplan, Shawn Lee has once again delivered the goods. Soul Food 2 is an album drenched in that 60s Motown/Stax retro sound Berry Gordy would have been proud of: it is THE sound that defined the 60s. Diana Ross & The Supremes, The Four Tops, and The Jackson 5, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, The Marvelettes, and The Miracles to name just a few. It’s all here. And if you ask him his favourite track on the album? “It’ll have to be Boogie Drive!” 

01. Clap And Stomp 01:14 
02. Cramp 02:02 
03. Northern Soul 01:41 
04. Boogie Drive 01:52 
05. Four Beat 02:06 
06. Soul Boots 01:42 
07. Teen Beat 01:34 
08. Motor City 02:01 
09. Wigan Out 02:00 
10. Kinda Sleazy 01:56 
11. Groovin 02:06 
12. Fuzz Town 01:52 
13. Stax Wax 01:50 
14. Ribbon Rock 01:38 

download link

No comments:

Post a Comment