Wednesday, July 4, 2012

B.DURAZZO - Beats Vol. 1

B.DURAZZO - Beats Vol. 1 

label: self-release 
released: 29 September 2011 
style: instrumental electronic hiphop beats 
format: 320kbps mp3, FLAC,.... 

When I first took a look at a video of B.Durazzo playing a beat live on two MPCs, I thought to myself, “Damn, this isn’t just some kid playing around with Fruityloops and a sampler. Dude’s talented.” Over the course of the video, Ben played each machine like it was a part of a larger instrument. This is something which defies the notion that most hip-hop isn’t “real music” because of the lack of live instrumentation involved in the creative process. Sure, The Roots have been playing live instruments for to make their music for years, but the vast majority of people that make hip-hop do not. Even the turntable has been questioned as a legitimate instrument but if you’ve ever watched a DMC level DJ, you can see that there really shouldn’t be much of a question. Is Ben using other people’s music to make his? Yes, but you could argue that any musician does the same through their influences. As they say, “There ain’t nothin’ new under the sun.” 

01. Singularity 04:58 
02. Quixote's Theme 03:47 
03. Clockwork 04:14 
04. Plutocracy 04:34 
05. Monkey Bars 05:05 
06. Lucidity Flows 03:20 
07. Ancient Astronauts 02:47 
08. Arsenal 03:54 
09. Grand Scheme 04:36 
10. Lullaby 03:33 
11. Passing Time 04:49 
12. Street Lights 03:42 
13. Within Arms Reach 03:57 
14. Buried Beneath The Grapevine 03:55 
15. Tomorrow 03:53 
16. Biomecca 03:31

No comments:

Post a Comment